TGIF

23 Jul

Not much of a to do list for this weekend. Just catching up on housework and the like, yawn.

But I am starting to get there with the sewing plan, now that some of my stash of fabric has been cleared away with recent projects.

Here’s a sneak peak:

I spotted this Orla Kiely coat via Vivat Veritas and realised it was a good match for the 70′s coat pattern I made as my first ebay purchase this week.

I love this Brian Reyes dress and when I saw Vogue 1109 I knew I could channel Tim Gunn and “make it work”. Or at least I hope so. If I can replace the sleeves with facings and extend the hip panels into a skirt, I may be in luck. I also like the Alice + Olivia blazer but I can’t seem to find the right pattern for it. Any ideas?

And finally, to indulge my love of the whimsically ridiculous – these Issey Miyake pants inspired by Balenciaga Resort 2011.

6 Responses to “TGIF”

  1. lillian turner July 24, 2010 at 01:02 #

    V1109 makes a great dress and your idea would work beautifully. Stripes are the only way to go.

    • lakaribane July 24, 2010 at 01:50 #

      I like your choices too. One thing to watch out for, IMO, is the slightly extended shoulder on the Vogue pattern. If you look at the envelop photo, the seam is not at the shoulder but slightly past it. In fact, I thought it was a kimono/bat-wing top, didn’t even realize it had a shoulder seam.

      Might not be a problem for you but keep that in mind, ok? Good luck! I need to get back to my own sewing, been procastinating these last 2 weeks.

      • thislightgetsin July 24, 2010 at 08:09 #

        Good thinking, batman! I hadn’t thought about it – there is definitely going to be some planning involved. Thanks for the tip :)

  2. Tasia July 24, 2010 at 17:51 #

    Oh fun! That’s the 70′s coat you need buttons for, very cool! The Issey Miyake pants are fabulous, in fact, I kind of want a pair for myself now.

  3. lakaribane July 25, 2010 at 01:41 #

    me again. Look a this (please disregard the source, just look at the dress, LOL):

    http://gofugyourself.celebuzz.com/go_fug_yourself/2010/07/thebigfugtheory_072310.html

    • thislightgetsin July 25, 2010 at 08:15 #

      haha… the scroll down fugs are always my favourites :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

