TGIF

16 Jul

What’s in the box?

Ta da!!

I got back to my desk on Wednesday and there were three big internationally posted parcels waiting for me. #1 was my BMV pattern haul which only took 10 days to arrive.

#2 was from Mum and Dad for my birthday a week ago.

My entire immediate family live in London right now. They went traveling separately but all ended up in the same place. This doesn’t mean I miss out on any mothering though – check out what was included here: a nice soft wool blanket, some candy from Florence, an alternative sewing magazine, a post card from Venice and, as always, a passive agressive news paper clipping. Let’s get a close-up of that:

She means well – I get that and I love her for it – luckily I’ve learned to laugh it off.

The last package was from my fab little sister. Just the excitement needed to get me through the rest of the week.

This weekend’s list:

– Finish the hallway*

– Attempt my first button down shirt, McCall’s 6035. Either the View B or C.

Although, the selfish seamstress just did a great version of the puffy sleeved one and I’m worried that after seeing hers, I’ll just be jealous when mine doesn’t come out as well.

– Now that the patterns have arrived, I need to finalize my self-stitched-september plan.

*No, I haven’t finished the hallway, yes it’s been like 3 weeks since I said I’d do it. So much for holding myself accountable.

2 Responses to “TGIF”

  1. Brumby July 18, 2010 at 10:02 #

    Oh I LOVE getting parcels, and it would seem you got some very sweet gifts from the family! I resisted the urge to buy patterns, I am on a self imposed ‘no buy’ at the moment for fabric and patterns, until I dwindle some of my stash, and use the patterns I have on hand. The sales come up often enough so I just need to exercise a little patience, which is easy right now given I am cash strapped any way. Good luck with the hall way, I know what you mean about storage, after living in Australia where every house has ample built in wardrobe and storage space it is SO frustrating not to have it again!

  2. nanonano July 18, 2010 at 12:52 #

    wow! a boxful of patterns. how delightful!!!

    i’m waiting for my first pattern to arrive. ur sewing is inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

