Poet Blouse: McCall’s 6035

18 Jul

Yes! I got it done and even enjoyed it. Believe it or not I haven’t sewn button holes since highschool. Or collars for that matter so it was a bit of a refresher,although I wouldn’t look too closely at either one. This is McCall’s 6035 in View B and the first of my box-o-patterns out of the gate. I was all set to complete View C, with simple tabbed sleeves, when the selfish seamstress posted the blousy ones and inspired me to go with these.

There’s something slightly ridiculous about them that I love and I can’t put my finger on it. I used a slightly sheer swiss-dot cotton blend that I thought was white in the store but is actually an ice-blue shade. It fits pretty well as it comes with different cup-size pieces. The body is a Size 20, D-cup.


I graded out to a Size 22 from the waist to the hem which probably wasn’t necessary as there is plenty of fabric there. I also cut the sleeves in a 22 (20 at the cap) and added 3/4 of an inch to the band. I do a lot of typing at work and I can’t stand that feeling of sleeves being too tight.

Next time, I’m planning to make View C as one only needs so many poet blouses.  I’ll fit it a smidge more under the bust and lengthen it a little (yes, that is my butt-crack paranoia surfacing again). But I’m just so glad to have a button-down shirt that doesn’t gap at the bust or cut off circulation to my hands.

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: $5.6 (McCall’s online)

Fabric: $14.0 (2m @ $7/m – Centrepoint)

Thread: $3.0

Buttons: $2.45 (7 @ 35c each)

TOTAL: NZ$25.05 / US$17.80

4 Responses to “Poet Blouse: McCall’s 6035”

  1. Brumby July 18, 2010 at 19:09 #

    I love billowy sleeves, and this looks great. I agree you could have forgone adding anything at the waist/hip, and a little extra length will make it look even better. A shaped hem like a traditional shirt may look quite nice too! Bargain on the fabric, Centrepoint have some good specials every now and again don’t they!

  2. sewsister July 18, 2010 at 23:12 #

    It looks terrific and nice to know because we’re basically the same size. What looks great on you will probably fit me! Thank you.

  3. Tasia July 20, 2010 at 09:42 #

    Love the lightweight swiss dot fabric! Fits you very well too, nice work!

    • thislightgetsin July 21, 2010 at 00:25 #

      Thanks, Tasia! I love the fabric too – although it’s a little more sheer than I thought so I ended up wearing it under a jumper for work.

Leave a Reply

